2017 Red Raider Varsity Football Award and Lettermen Jacket Recipients


Sam Rosen upon being honored with the Kevin A. Houston Memorial Award


Coach Chris Whidden announced the following 2017 Barnstable High School award recipients for excellence in football at the Annual Awards Banquet held on December 10th at the Knight’s Auditorium. 


Heart & Drive Offensive Linemen of the Year – Lou Cocozza

  • This award is given annually to the Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman

Red Raiders Coaches’ Award – Michael Turner

  • This award is given annually to the “unsung hero” of the Red Raider varsity team

Joseph Borsari Award – James Peabody

  • This award is given to the Red Raider football player who best exemplifies the level of dedication it requires to wear the Red & White

Ronald Hosie Sportsmanship Award – Ryan Welsh

  • Awarded annually to an individual player who best exemplifies the spirit and demeanor of good sportsmanship on and off the BHS gridiron

Raymond E. Hostetter Jr. Award – Matt Petercuskie

  • This award is given each year to the player who best demonstrates a superior level of competitiveness and leadership

BHS Football Raiders Club Award – Samuel Rosen

  • Each season, a select player is recognized for attaining a superior level of performance against their opponents during the football season

Jean G. Hinkle Memorial Athletic Award – Lou Cocozza

  • This award is given each year to the senior member of the football squad who during his high school career, has shown the finest school spirit, the most willing cooperation with coach and team, and the highest degree of sportsmanship both on and off the field

Kevin A. Houston Memorial Award – Samuel Rosen

  • A version of this award has been presented since 1959 to the Barnstable most valuable player in the Thanksgiving Day game versus Falmouth


Lettermen Jacket Recipients


Barnstable High School Varsity Football Team

Conner Baldasaro
Cory Wardwell
Matt Turner
Arzimut Anthony
Sean O’Connell
Colby Burke
Matt Fred
Devano Clarke
Felipe Silva
Devary Gray
Christian Fallen
Craig Coombs
Harry Lanman
Matt Finnegan
Juarez Stanley
Osmin Rodriguez
Declan Moriarty
Joe Yalmokas
Zack Decker

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s